The New School Archives Digital Collections

New School-Parsons School of Design Photography Focus Lecture audio recordingsPhotojournalism Focus ➔ Leica Medal of Excellence

Physical Audio

Related people/organizations

New School for Social Research (New York, N.Y. : 1919-1997) (producer)
Walter Heun (speaker)
Benedict J. Fernandez (speaker)


circa June 10 1983


This is the recording of the third annual Leica Medal of Excellence award ceremony. An unidentified person introduces Benedict (Ben) Fernandez, who introduces Walter Heun. Heun announces the award winners: Stephen Shames, William Albert Allard, Harry Benson, Claudio Edinger, and Steve Rubin. Fernandez discusses Heun's role in the establishment of the Leica Medal of Excellence award. Fernandez then introduces Dmitri Baltermants, indicating that Baltermants will deliver a lecture following the ceremony.


Leica Medal of Excellence 1983

Related Terms

Parsons Institutional Collections


box pav_9, cassette 2.4 A



Use Restrictions 

There’s more! What you see on this site is only what is viewable online. Please visit our website to find out more about what’s in the archives.