The New School Archives Digital Collections

David C. Levy records 1949 – 1992

Collection, PC010401

General administration (PC010401.01)
Departments and programs (PC010401.02)
Personal (PC010401.03)
Governance (PC010401.08)


David Corcos Levy served as dean of Parsons School of Design from 1970 until 1989. The bulk of these records were generated between 1970 and 1984, after the merger of Parsons and the New School for Social Research, and consist of memos, correspondence, reports, and subject files related to Levy's administrative tenure.

Correspondents include a range of New School and Parsons administrators, including New School president John R. Everett; New School dean Allen Austill; Albert Landa; Oscar Kolin, chair of the Helena Rubinstein Foundation and a member of the Parsons Board of Overseers; and Neil Hoffman, dean of the Otis Art Institute of Parsons School of Design. Frequent faculty correspondents include Martica Sawin, Mary Ann Scherr, John Russo, and Irwin Touster.

Categories and subjects represented herein include developing and implementing new degree programs; the process of merging academic institutions, including the Otis Art Institute in Los Angeles; faculty relations and unionization; accreditation; program and department establishment and design; and fundraising activities. Also found here are materials created by the Parsons Board of Trustees and, after the merger, the New School Board of Overseers.

Collection Guide

Guide to the David C. Levy records

Related people/organizations

Allen Austill
Lesley A. Cadman
Sterling A. Callisen
Albert Landa
New School for Social Research (New York, N.Y. : 1919-1997)
Otis Art Institute of Parsons School of Design
Richard M. Paget
Parsons School of Design
Francis A. Ruzicka
Allen Tate

There’s more! What you see here is only what is viewable online; in most cases it is only a small portion of what is available. Please visit the collection guide to find out more.